Online Learning

Mindfulness & Education Conference: A Livestream Event

This workshop has been cancelled.

Available until Online

Omega and Transformative Educational Leadership are pleased to present the annual Mindfulness & Education Conference via livestream for the first time, to bring the powerful work of mindful racial and climate justice action within our schools and communities to a much wider audience.

The practices of mindfulness, contemplative education, and Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) are being widely explored in schools throughout the United States and other countries. Extensive research has shown that mindfulness practices and SEL decrease stress, attention deficit issues, depression, anxiety, and hostility in children, while benefiting health, well-being, and social relationships. The Mindfulness & Education Conference livestream event focuses on how mindfulness and contemplative practices can be powerful tools for social change, and not solely self-care.

As David Forbes writes, “Personal mindfulness can be step one, but mindful social action is step two. Ultimately, they are inseparable.”

This annual gathering is being offered online for the first time in partnership with Transformative Educational Leadership (TEL), a racially and culturally diverse group of educational leaders across sectors that seeks to create systemic transformation based on a deep foundation of inner development. TEL is rooted in the transformative potential of leadership that integrates cutting-edge application of equity, SEL, and mindfulness in service of creating a culture of belonging in a more compassionate and equitable world.

We welcome leaders in the fields of leadership, equity, SEL, mindfulness, and systems transformation, as we all continue to play our roles in reckoning with the dual pandemics of COVID-19 and racism. Through inspiring keynote lectures, question-and-answer sessions, group exercises, and breakout discussions, we:

  • Explore how our inner development can cultivate the values that instill compassionate and courageous action in our spheres of power and circles of influence
  • Understand our personal connection to equity issues, and lead from a place where equity is a key decision-making principle in integrating a sense of belonging in schools, educational organizations, and the wider community in which they serve
  • Identify next steps for leading racial and climate justice action in our schools and communities

For registered participants, this workshop will be available on demand through September 25, 2021. This workshop is also being offered on Omega's Rhinebeck campus, July 23-25. Learn more.

Presenters are subject to change.


Meet the Teachers

  • Linda Lantieri, MA, Fulbright Scholar, keynote speaker, and internationally known expert in socia ...
  • Meena Srinivasan is an educator, writer, and innovator who has been teaching and leading with ...
  • Larry Ward, director of the Lotus Institute, is a dharma teacher ordained by Thich Nhat Hanh. In ...
  • Hector Montenegro, PhD, has been a math teacher, principal, chief of staff for the Washington, DC ...
  • Michelle Coghill Chatman, PhD, is an Assistant Professor in the Crime, Justice, and Security ...
  • Janice E. Jackson, EdD, is an independent education consultant with a focus on leadership and org ...
  • Yvette Jackson, EdD, is an adjunct professor at Columbia University. She has also been a visi ...
  • Deidre Farmbry, PhD, is a career educator, having held the positions of English teacher, English ...
  • Xiaoan Li, PhD, is program officer at The Fetzer Institute in Kalamazoo, Michigan. His specia ...
  • Ram Bhagat, PhD, serves as manager of school climate and culture strategy for Richmond Public ...
  • Tom Roderick is an educator, activist, and writer. Roderick retired after 35 years as foun ...
  • Sherri Mitchell, JD, is an indigenous rights activist, spiritual teacher, and transformation ...
  • Jeff Snipes serves as the Chairman of Millennium’s Board of Trustees where he leads the str ...

Schedule

Please note there is a special schedule for this course:

FRIDAY
July 23, 2021

8:00 p.m.–8:30 p.m. EDT (5:00 p.m.–5:30 p.m. PDT)
Welcome & Honoring the Land

With Meena Srinivasan, Linda Lantieri, and Larry Ward

8:30 p.m.–9:15 p.m. EDT (5:30 p.m.–6:15 p.m. PDT)
Virtual Keynote

With Larry Ward

9:15 p.m.–9:30 p.m. EDT (6:15 p.m.–6:30 p.m. PDT)
Logistics

SATURDAY
July 24, 2021

9:00 a.m.–9:30 a.m. EDT (6:00 a.m.–6:30 a.m. PDT)
Arriving, Centering & Welcoming

9:30 a.m.–10:15 a.m. EDT (6:30 a.m.–7:15 a.m. PDT)
Caring for the Planet

With Tom Roderick

10:15 a.m.–10:30 a.m. EDT (7:15 a.m.–7:30 a.m. PDT)
Break

10:30 a.m.–11:15 a.m. EDT (7:30 a.m.–8:15 a.m. PDT)
Keynote

With Sherri Mitchell

11:15 a.m.–Noon EDT (8:15 a.m.–9:00 a.m. PDT)
Nature-Based Practice

With Sherri Mitchell, Meena Srinivasan, and Linda Lantieri

2:00 p.m.–2:15 p.m. EDT (11:00 a.m.–11:15 a.m. PDT)
Arriving, Centering & Welcoming

With Meena Srinivasan and Linda Lantieri

2:15 p.m.–4:15 p.m. EDT (11:15 a.m.–1:15 p.m. PDT)
Forum

With Jeff Snipes and Meena Srinivasan

4:15 p.m.–5:00 p.m. EDT (1:15 p.m.–2:00 p.m. PDT)
BREAK

7:30 p.m.–9:00 p.m. EDT (4:30 p.m.–6:00 p.m. PDT)
Keynote

With Ram Bhagat

SUNDAY
July 25, 2021

9:00 a.m.–9:15 a.m. EDT (6:00 a.m.–6:15 a.m. PDT)
Arriving & Centering

With Meena Srinivasan and Linda Lantieri

9:15 a.m.–10:15 a.m. EDT (6:15 a.m.–7:15 a.m. PDT)
Transformative Education Panel

With Yvette Jackson, Deidre Farmbry, Hector Montenegro, Tom Roderick, and Janice E. Jackson

10:15 a.m.–10:30 a.m. EDT (7:15 a.m.–7:30 a.m. PDT)
Break

10:30 a.m.–11:15 a.m. EDT (7:30 a.m.–8:15 a.m. PDT)
Keynote

With Michelle Coghill Chatman

11:15 a.m.–Noon EDT (8:15 a.m.–9:00 a.m. PDT)
Closing Ritual

With Michelle Coghill Chatman, Linda Lantieri, and Meena Srinivasan

The above schedule is subject to change at the discretion of the faculty.

Tuition & Fees

Title Price

12th Annual Mindfulness & Education Conference

$89
regular
$99

Continuing Education

Credit Hours: 12

WESPSB - Educators (Washington State Professional Educator Standards Board)$50

Learn More About Continuing Education Credits

FAQ

How can I register for a live stream or purchase an online product?
You can purchase any of Omega’s online learning products exclusively through eOmega.org using Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express. Registration is only available online (and not by phone).

You will find a registration box on the left side of the page of the program you would like to register for. Click "Register."

If you have an eOmega.org account you can log in to register. You must create an account to register.

Once you have completed the checkout process, you will receive a confirmation email containing a unique link to access your product. If you purchased a live stream, you will also receive a reminder email on the day of the event. Please note that registration for online programs can only be done online, not by phone.

How do I view my purchase?
You will be sent a confirmation email after you register for your product. It contains a link to view the live event or on demand page. Please keep this email in an easy to find spot and check immediately to make sure the link is working. If you lose or delete this email, click here to have another sent to you.

You can also find your videos on your account page. Under the "My Orders" tab, click the "Access Workshop" link.

What is your refund and/or cancellation policy?
All online learning sales for live video streaming, on demand,  and online workshops are final. No credit or refund is available. Omega reserves the right to cancel a program at any time. If Omega cancels a program, you will receive a full refund. 

If I purchase a live stream or online workshop, can I share my link with a friend?
The email confirmation link that you will receive from Omega is non-transferable. It will only work for one dedicated IP address per household. If you have more than 1 computer or video-enabled device in your home, you will be able to watch the video stream simultaneously on each device, but you would not be able to share the link with a friend.

Are Omega’s online products compatible with tablets and mobile devices?
Omega’s video event page is responsive and will work on any of your Wi-Fi enabled devices, including your computer, laptop, tablet, and/or smart phone. There may be unique cases when a live stream is only available on desktop and laptop computers. 

Is there a required bandwidth for streaming Omega's video learning sessions within the platform?
A 5 Mbps internet connection is recommended for the course streaming video elements. If you are using WiFi over an iPhone or Android and your connection is poorer, it may lower the quality of streaming.

Will an archive of a live event be available to watch at a later date?
Some live events will have archived videos available on demand for a specified number of days after the event, depending on the event. If a program is available on demand, an archive of the live event will typically be available immediately following the event. 

How do I watch an archived version of a live event?
The archived version of a live event is accessible through the link in your confirmation email or the "Access Workshop" link on your profile page. Once you have accessed the on demand player page, you can watch any of the video segments by selecting them through the on demand dropdown menu. If you purchased limited access to a streaming event, you will only be able to watch those selected segments.

When should I log on to watch a live event? 
You will receive a reminder email on the day of the live event. We encourage you to log on 5-10 minutes before the event begins. You will see a countdown clock before the event begins. When the live event becomes available, the screen will change. You may need to refresh your page or click play to begin viewing. You may also see a pre-streaming video before the actual live event begins. 

What happens if I join a streaming event already in progress?
All of Omega’s streaming events have a live DVR rewind feature. If you join an event already in progress, you can simply rewind by clicking the status button on the status bar at the bottom of the video player and dragging it back to the beginning.

If you leave a live and/or on demand video event early or accidentally close your browser, you can easily access where you left off in the broadcast by clicking and dragging the status button to move forward to where you were when your browser session ended.

How do I use the chat during a live video event?
Omega uses Chatroll to facilitate our live chat during an event.

Once you have logged in, simply type in your thoughts or questions using the comment box on the player page and click the “Post as…” button in the bottom right-hand corner of the comment box to submit.

You are solely responsible for your interaction with other users, whether online or offline. Omega is not responsible or liable for the conduct or content of any user. We reserve the right, but have no obligation, to monitor or become involved in disputes between you and other users. Exercise common sense and your best judgment in your interactions with others when you submit or post any personal or other information. 

Why am I only able view the video, but not hear the speaker? 
When you log in to watch a live event, please make sure that the volume on your computer is turned up. Prior to the beginning of an event, you may only see a pre-streaming video feed and the sound will go live at the start of the event. If the sound drops out during a live event, please let Omega’s administrator know by utilizing the Tech Chat functionality located on the lower right side of the video page.

Why am I only able to hear the event? Why is the picture out of synch with the sound?
Please make sure that you are using the most recent browser version and have enough bandwidth. From time to time, you may experience a delay with picture and sound. If you experience any issues with the quality of the event experience, please let Omega’s administrator know by utilizing the Tech Chat on the lower right side of the video page.

How do I reach an administrator for other concerns?
Please email onlinelearning@eomega.org for additional support. Your questions will be answered during business hours, Monday through Friday. 

For any other questions, please see Omega’s Terms & Conditions.

Discover More