Matthew Fox

Matthew Fox

Matthew Fox is an internationally acclaimed theologian and spiritual maverick who has spent the last 40 years revolutionizing Christian theology, taking on patriarchal religion, and advocating for a creation-centered spirituality of compassion and justice and re-sacralizing of the earth.

As a spiritual theologian, he has written more than 30 books, including Original Blessing, The Coming of the Cosmic Christ, A Spirituality Named Compassion, Christian Mystics, and The Pope’s War. He also coauthored The Physics of Angels and Natural Grace with British scientist Rupert Sheldrake. His books have been translated into 49 languages and are known for pioneering a unique approach to spirituality as a powerful force to transform religion, education, and culture. 

The late Thomas Berry said that Fox "might be the most creative, the most comprehensive, surely the most challenging theologian in America.” Matthew Fox was described as “the most important living theologian” by Bishop Marc Andrews.

Originally a Catholic priest, Fox was silenced for a year and then expelled from the Dominican Order to which he had belonged for 34 years by Cardinal Ratzinger for teaching liberation theology and creation spirituality. Matthew Fox currently serves as an Episcopal priest after he received what he calls “religious asylum” from the Episcopal Church.

With exciting results he has worked with young people to create the Cosmic Mass to revitalize worship by bringing elements of rave to the Western liturgical tradition.

In 2005, when Cardinal Ratzinger became Pope Benedict, Fox went to Martin Luther’s church in Wittenberg, Germany, and pounded 95 contemporary theses at the door to call people to a New Reformation. 

His work has been featured by the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Rolling Stone magazine, National Catholic Reporter, Democracy Now!, and other publications. He is a recipient of numerous awards, including the Courage of Conscience Award by the Peace Abbey of Sherborn, Mass. Other recipients of this award include the Dalai Lama, Mother Theresa, Ernesto Cardinal, and Rosa Parks.


Matthew Fox at Omega